Worth installing at home?

I’m wondering if it’s worth the energy to run a Jitsi server from my home. I’m not a coder/developer, or even in the tech industry. Previous attempts to use apps Docker from my Win10 machine failed. I don’t have access to a Static IP with my current internet plan, and my upload speeds are only 12Mbps.

Not having a static IP is a problem and 12Mbps upload will fit in 3 participants in HD … you may have bad audio/video quality …

Thanks for the fast reply.

My meetings are only 1 on 1, for clients who live in the area. Current service (paid) I think limits video bandwidth (resolution and fps) to make sure the audio is stable, which is what I need. But I was curious if I could tinker with the audio settings even further. But it wouldn’t be worth paying for a server, since it’s close enough to server costs and doing what I need it to do anyways without putting any sweat equity into something I know little about. Just curious if it was worth trying to tinker with to see if I could build/run something myself. But yeah, no static IP for consumer level internet plans in the area.

I don’t know where you’re based or who your service provider is, but it is customary for service providers in the US to pretty much leave customers on the same IP address. So although it’s not contractually static, it pretty much functions as one.

Also, since Jitsi resolution is done via FQDN, perhaps not having a static IP address is not a complete limiter. So long as your changing IP is resolving to your FQDN (there are simple ways of ensuring this), people will always be able to reach your Jitsi application.