Why would audio lag behind the video?

Has anybody ever heard of this?

I’m totally new to Jitsi so pardon my ignorance, but I tried my first video call with one other person and I would see the person speak and then a couple seconds later hear the audio.

Maybe it has to do with the speed of sound versus the speed of light? :laughing:

My conferencing partner said that my speech seemed to be synced just fine.
We were using meet.jit.si. I am using Chromium (Debian GNU/Linux) and my partner was using Chrome (MacOS).

Could it have to do with the fact that I don’t use PulseAudio? (I would think using ALSA directly would have been faster.)

The only other factor was that my partner on the other end had a spotty network connection, but that doesn’t explain anything unless Jitsi’s handling of low bandwidth situations is to delay the audio. (Which I highly doubt.)

3 Likes

Bad network explains lipsync issues, its the nature of traffic, small but a lot of packets for audio and big packets for video with retransmissions for lost packets/frames … And you get lipsync issues …

1 Like

Okay, that makes sense for why video would lag behind audio: big packets (video) would take longer to retransmit and would be more likely to have errors and require multiple attempts.

But that’s not what I was experiencing. The video was coming in on time, but the audio was delayed by a couple seconds. It was so odd, it seemed like I must be doing something blatantly wrong. I tried it a second time with the same partner (with the lossy connection) and it happened again.

If you’ve never seen this problem, then I’m going to chalk it up to not using PulseAudio. Thanks.

Seeing the same problem with our own deployment, where we see lags in Audio while video is perfect? Is there any tips on ways to tune to ensure audio has the priority during call as our application is in the music domain?

You wouldn’t happen to be using a setup similar to mine (GNU/Linux with ALSA, no PulseAudio), would you?