Where do I see which events are there and what triggers them?

Hello, I’m very new to this and was going through documentation of prosody to try and understand how events work.

Basically, where do I read about which events can be triggered and when? For example, a user tries to enter a room, I want to hook a function when that happens, what event would that be to put on the hook?

Sorry if this has already been asked before, I did not find it, or if it’s a silly question, I’d just like to have some directions to where to look at.

There is no doc for it

Or get examples from the jitsi-meet plugins, here is the pre-join event

So the only way of knowing the events is by reading existing code?

These events look much different from those “presence/bare”, I thought these were the events. What does it mean then?

Thank you for your reply tho, appreciate the help.

In general, yes. My understanding is that there are standard prosody events which you will see in the docs, but modules that you use or write yourself can also fire custom events. So unless a module maintainer documents the events and keeps it updated, the only way to know all available events is to search in code.

To know what events are trigger when users joins/leaves a room, you can:
a) Look at the source for muc.lib.lua and search for module:fire_event
b) Or, explore prosody-plugins provided by jitsi-meet or by the community, and when you find one that intersects with what you’re trying to build, you can use that as a reference.

For example, when I wanted to build event_sync I pretty much followed the steps above and eventually modelled my implementation after the speaker_stats module.

Thank you for the great answer, I understand now how it is done.

I have one other question, because I’m really new to this.
For example, i have this code:

local log = module._log;

log("info", "Hello world!");
log("info", "*******************************************************************");