VP9 simulcast config to cap bitrates or to make best use of low bandwidth clients conference

I am sorry if these VP9 related config or thinking question seems stupid. I am new to VP9 support for jitsi topic and these questions came to my mind:

1. Why do I need to enable the simulcast/suspension layer while using VP9? shouldn’t it be just sending 1 special stream always with multiple layers and the server should forward the resolution/framerate suitable for the asking client?

2. Even if I need to use simulcast can I put a cap for max bitrates on every layer and should it be just like VP8 or other like I did put a cap for 270p stream at 350kbps, 1200kbps for 540p? how many layers even are here,3 like before ?

3. If I set the resolution to 540p, then for VP8 it was trying to acquire 3 resolutions (540p,270p,135p) and now for VP9, if in one client is seeing video in 120p (9 * 16 user in one page of 1080p monitor) or 60p (18 * 32 user in 1080p monitor or we can say I set 108p as lowest for gallery view otherwise scroll) of other clients in gallery view then will it automatically adjust and get 120p or 60p video from video bridge (to not make waste of bandwidth) or it will just get 135p like before and server 60p or 120p needed by scaling?

Thanx in advance for any answer or logical input :heart:

You need to enable simulcast for VP9 SVC to work. That is the crazy implementation that Chrome has come up with it since they haven’t implemented a proper SVC API. Based on how the simulcast streams are configured (like which ones are enabled or disabled), browser modifies the SVC stream that gets sent out. For example, if you have only LD, SD streams enabled (which is done through layer suspension), the outgoing stream will have only 2 SVC layers. If you do not care about uplink, you can disable layer suspension and 1 stream will all 3 SVC layers will be sent always even if there are no receivers viewing this particular user in HD.