Voting/Polls in Jitsi Meet

meet

Hello,
I am a student at Free University of Bozen-Bolzano in Italy. I am taking a course about software maintenance and I should be working with existing software projects in the same sense of GSoC but replace grades for money :wink:
Now, I am interested in Jitsi project, and I think this can be good chance to also prepare for GSoC next year so my question is about:

1. Are the previous GSoC ideas are still valid?
  2. Specially, “Integrate Dropbox in Jitsi Meet” can I work to implement this feature in the next 2-3 months?
  3. What are the required skills, or tasks I should do before working on the project? or this only for GSoC?

Thanks in Advance!
Mohamed

Just an update. I have been trying Jitsi now on my local machine and found out that the Dropbox integration have been already implemented.
So, I am moving to the other idea of implementing Voting/Polls.

Sorry for not fully doing my homework before I wrote the first post!
Mohamed.

Yes. You can just check which were already finished: https://jitsi.org/news/gsoc-2018-results/

Well, depends on your time which you can spent on this. Most of the tasks were considered full-time jobs for students for 3 months, as this is one of the gsoc requirements.

For this particular task its mostly working in jitsi-meet UI part, so it is javascript/react/redux work.

The goal of the project is first to implement a generic way in the jitsi-meet to embed any kind of service like this, dropbox … We already have youtube and etherpad integration, but a generic frame for those should be implemented in react, as the current services are still not moved to the react code.
Then the second part is implementing the Dropbox file sharing in that already established api in the react code.

If you want to start with that here are a few beginner steps:

• clone jitsi-meet
  • build it successfully
  • run webpack-dev-server