Visitors in my meeting? Is it safe for school lessons?

Hi, I’m a teacher, I’ve been using zoom for my online lessons, but today I read it shares data with Facebook, so I’m trying to find an alternative. I’ve just tried to use Jitsi; I opend a meeting called ‘prova’, just to see what I can do with it. Surprisingly, in the five minutes I was connected, two people shortly entered my meeting, quickly leaving it. What does it mean? Should I not invite people to allow them join? If I am to use Jitsi with a class, I must be sure it is safe. Is it possible for anyone to join a meeting without beeing invited?

hi, yes anyone could enter in meeting using the same conference name, then it’ s important your meeting name are complex and change regularly. You can also setup a password in option when you are already connected to the bridge that next attendees will have to enter to access the meeting.
good luck

Michael

1 Like

Thank you Michael, sorry for the naive question; I am new and I did not find an answer in the FAQ.

1 Like

Hi,
I’m a teacher too. In my school we are using “WeScool” platform, that has embedded Jitsi Meet in order to have video lessons.
I’ve seen that everybody - teacher and students - has the same permssions, like ‘mute everyone’ or ‘kick out’ other participants from the room. Moreover, even though a teacher mutes everyone, any student can unmute himself, creating noise and other stuff.
Is there a way to give the teacher more permissions and to give the students more restrctives ones?So that the teacher, as an example, can mute/unmute every studend in a mandatory mode? And the students cannot kick out every person they want to…
Can anybody help me?

2 Likes