Trace user activity on external systems

Hello everyone,

I need to trace every user activity, ideally I would like to keep records of events like

• user connected
  • user disconnected
  • room created
  • room destroyed

I saw from several old forum posts (like this one or this one)
that suggest writing his own prosody module (by hooking the events of the muc) or go trough the JICOFO logs (I would avoid the latter).

The posts are a bit old and I was wondering if meanwhile something has been made(I would prefer a REST integration, but I’m open to other options).

Did someone already approached this problem?

Writing a new module is the only solution? If this is really the only solution, could someone elaborate on how to do this with some starting tips (I’m a beginner with lua - ex. rest calls, serializing a table into a json, etc…)?

3 Likes

Jicofo log analyzer

I would really avoid parsing the jicofo logs with a bash script: It seems like it’s not a solution easy to maintain (ex. we might need to parse a potentially very long file, not talk about file locks, permissions and stuff like that) and the results would not arrive in real time.

you can enable syslog for jicofo

--- logging.properties.ori	2021-07-08 15:33:12.176664889 +0200
+++ logging.properties	2021-07-08 15:33:28.136134017 +0200
@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
 #handlers= java.util.logging.ConsoleHandler, org.jitsi.impl.protocol.xmpp.log.XmppPacketsFileHandler

# Handlers with syslog enabled:
-#handlers= java.util.logging.ConsoleHandler, com.agafua.syslog.SyslogHandler
+handlers= java.util.logging.ConsoleHandler, com.agafua.syslog.SyslogHandler
 #handlers= java.util.logging.ConsoleHandler, io.sentry.jul.SentryHandler

java.util.logging.ConsoleHandler.level = ALL
@@ -25,7 +25,7 @@
 # Syslog (uncomment handler to use)
 com.agafua.syslog.SyslogHandler.transport = udp
 com.agafua.syslog.SyslogHandler.facility = local0
-com.agafua.syslog.SyslogHandler.port = 514
+com.agafua.syslog.SyslogHandler.port = 10514