Self-Hosted Jitsi Meet, make a RESt call when user joins or leaves

Hi everyone,

I am new to Jitsi, but I have been able to get setup with self-hosting Jitsi Meet (along with the backend JVB, Jicofo, etc), and I am trying to figure out a way for my app server to monitor how many people are in a meeting. Ideally, this would be done with a RESt api, either my app server polls Jitsi or Jitsi calls a method when a user joins or leaves. Has anyone accomplished this in the past, or have any guidance/suggestions on how to go about it?

Thanks!

Open port 8080 on jvb and try curl http://localhost:8080/colibri/stats
port 8888 for jicofo and use curl http://localhost:8888/stats

If you just need to know the number of room occupants at a specific point in time, then metadata’s suggestion above would be the way to go.

If you need an actual list of participants, the only way I know (which doesn’t say much :smirk:) is to make your REST API calls from a prosody modules.

The simplest would be to add you call to the speaker_stats function in /usr/share/jitsi-meet/prosody_plugins/ext_events.lib.lua. This will get called at the end of a meeting, and
the speakerStats argument will contain details of all meeting participants.

If you need more real-time information, e.g. API calls each time user leaves or joins, you will need to write your own prosody component and hook into the muc-occupant-joined and muc-occupant-pre-leave events.

So I’ve managed to get the /colibri/conferences endpoint working, but I noticed that conferences seem to have their own ID. Is there any way I can map the name of the room to the conference id?

Managed to figure it out. Using the /debug rest api you can get a list of the rooms with the names

Nice! If you can, kindly share the steps you took. I haven’t looked into this, but seems like a nice ‘to-have’.

Hi Nathan,