Remove 'Remove password' option?

I’m new to jitsi meet and using the shared server meet.jit.si. I want to be able to set up a conference in advance, issue a password and be reasonably confident that I can go ahead and meet - with just those people I want to meet with. But:

1. As far as I can see, I need to make the text in the URL after the domain sufficiently obscure that no one else will think of using it
  2. I can set a password when I share the link, but then anyone else who joins can remove it!
  3. Plus they can kick anyone out whether I like it or not.

I can make a suitable choice in (1). But am I missing something with (2) or can I prevent that happening? And (3)?

Many thanks,

Tim

1 Like

I have EXACTLY the same questions… seems wacky. I’d love to know if you found an answer or if you moved on.

You can’t. meet.jit.si has been thought out as a tool for showing off the capabilities of the software by providing it as a free service for meeting between friends or collaborators. If some people can be adversarial, it does not work. Do not invite them.

Well that rather unrealistic view poses at least two questions doesn’t it?

1. What is the point in showing off the capabilities of the software with something that is inherently unsafe?

2. How do you know someone is going to be adversarial before they are adversarial? It only needs someone to acidentally see an invite on someone else’s device and they are potentially an antagonistic interloper.