"Quick-installation" of jitsi-meet user experience

Hello everybody,
thank you very much for providing us with this software. Certainly you have realized raising interest in recent weeks; indeed, need for “virus-proof” communication lead me too to try out jitsi-meet.

By that, I am no expert in videobridging etc, although there is some experience with Linux server maintenance. So I tried the quick-install route of both stable and nightlies versions on a Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch) server, set up as LAMP server with Fully Qualified Domain Name (FQDN) and established TLS certificate.

Here is my first eight-hour-experience:

• The software retrieving process worked well along the Debian/apt-get path: Adding the repositories and subsequent installation on the target system. The basic setup of Jitsi is integrated into this through script(s) automatically. An option of using existing certificates is present and seems to work. In my case an Apache-Webserver is used as web-interface for Jitsi-meet

• Jitsi-meet consists of a software bundle installed in /usr/share/. A new Apache “virtual host” is configured with a DocumentRoot pointing to /usr/share/jitsi-meet.

• In order to use an existing FQDN TLS certificate, the virtual host has to serve this FQDN-server name; in my case, this conflicts with other server applications.

• I did not get jitsi-meet working from a web-server directory linked to /usr/share/jitsi-meet. There is a forum-thread around this idea but the solutions suggested therein did not work for me. The problem is that the custom install seems to rely on a relative directory path names. Suggestions to resolve this imply advanced use of the Apache “Location-” and “Alias-” Directives which unfortuntely went beyond my skills

• Present firewall setting needed adjustments