Problems with Chrome - no camera or microphone

Hello!
Sorry in advancebut I’m not the most teach-savy person, so forgive me if the terminology doesn’t quite fit (I’m also translating, so the messages may not say 100% the same words you’d see in your Jitsi)

I’m a teacher and use Jitsi for video conferences with my students sometimes. Usually I use my computer for that and my standard browser is Firefox. Aside from some issues (connection rapidly changes from red to yellow to green and back, choppy videos, sometimes the audio cuts out and I have to rejoin the room) I haven’t had problems with Firefox.

However, I’ve read that Chrome is better suited for Jitsi. But I cannot get it to work on Chrome at all! The first time I open a meeting, the browser asks me in a popup for permission to use my webcam and microphone, I click on accept, and then nothing happens. The meeting doesn’t start. The webcam is on (the little green light turns on) but the meeting doesn’t start.

And when I try it again, the popup for permission never appears again! The screen just tells me to give Jitsi permission to use my camera and microphone but I’m not given the option to do it.

I thought that maybe my adblock was somehow messing with the site so I turned it off, but that didn’t work either.

A colleague of mine has reported the same issue. She can use other meeting programs easily (Zoom, Skype, Microsoft Team) but Jitsi does not work with the Chrome browser or her Edge browser which is strange because aren’t they the recommended browsers for Jitsi?

Can you please help me?
As far as I know, both browsers I use (Firefox and Chrome) are up to date.

Firefox works but Chrome (Chromium in my case) has some better compression, so yes it can bring something on a slow link

you are right, Chrome is a bit more permissive from the web site point of view, the authorization is saved and if you want to remove it you have to do it explicitly in the Chrome options.