🚨 NEW FEATURE: Breakout Rooms - How to Enable

Breakout Rooms

The much-anticipated feature ‘Breakout Rooms’ just landed in Stable Release version 2.0.6689. :man_dancing:t5::man_dancing:t5::man_dancing:t5:

Introduction

Breakout Rooms let you temporarily split your Jitsi meeting into smaller groups, with each group meeting in its own unique room. By using Breakout Rooms, a Moderator can separate meeting participants into several small groups for more focused conversations and then bring them back into the main room at any time. These Breakout Rooms are distinct and completely separate from each other and the main room in terms of audio and video, so there is no audio or video leak or interference between rooms.

In Jitsi, only Moderators can create Breakout Rooms. They can be created at any time before or during a meeting. The Moderator can either assign participants to specific rooms or have participants join rooms on their own. Currently, users can move between rooms without restriction and can go back to the main meeting room at any time.

Configuring your deployment to enable Breakout Rooms

If you are installing Jitsi for the first time, starting from Stable Version 2.0. 6689, Breakout Rooms are enabled and work out of the box. However, if you are upgrading from a previous version, you’ll need to take some steps to enable the feature.

  1. Using your preferred editor, open your Jitsi prosody configuration file for editing (in this case, we use nano):
	sudo nano /etc/prosody/conf.avail/your.domain.com.cfg.lua
  1. Locate the main Virtual Host domain. It should look like this:

  1. Under modules_enabled, add “muc_breakout_rooms”
modules_enabled = {
        "bosh";
        "pubsub";
        "ping"; -- Enable mod_ping
        "speakerstats";
        "external_services";
        "conference_duration";
        "muc_lobby_rooms";
        "muc_breakout_rooms”;
    }
  1. Also, add the muc for breakout rooms to the list of mucs
c2s_require_encryption = false
    lobby_muc = "lobby.your.domain.com"
    main_muc = "conference.your.domain.com"
    breakout_rooms_muc = "breakout.your.domain.com"
  1. The final block should look like this:

  1. Next, add a component for the breakout rooms muc. It’s probably best to add this at the end of the file for easy identification. (Note that admin user is “focus” NOT “focusUser”)
--Internal muc component for enabling Breakout Rooms
Component "breakout.your.domain.com" "muc"
	restrict_room_creation = true
	storage = "memory"
	admins = { "focus@auth.your.domain.com" }
	muc_room_locking = false
	muc_room_default_public_jids = true
  1. Save the changes and exit edit mode
	Ctrl + O
	Ctrl + X
  1. Finally restart services
	sudo systemctl restart jitsi-videobridge2 prosody jicofo

Creating and Managing Breakout Rooms

Now if you start a meeting and open the participants pane, you’ll see a button for creating Breakout Rooms

Click the button to create a Breakout Room. A room is created and automatically assigned a room name.

Moderator can now move meeting participants to the Breakout Room by clicking on the ellipsis to the far right of the participant’s Display Name and then selecting the specific Breakout Room to move them to

Alternatively, a participant can also choose to join a Breakout Room on their own once created by clicking on the ‘Join’ button next to the listed Breakout Room

In the same vein, participants can leave a Breakout Room at any time and be taken back to the main room

user-leave_room

The Moderator can also force all participants out of the Breakout Room at once and send them back to the Main Room by closing the Breakout Room

If a Breakout Room is empty (free of participants), the Moderator can completely remove the room from the available list of Breakout Rooms


images (6) IMPORTANT NOTES

This is an evolving feature and work is still being done to improve it and increase its functionality. As of Stable Version 2.0.6726 released on December 10th, 2021, the following are true:

  1. Room names are currently not editable or configurable
  2. Currently, recording only works in the main room. Breakout rooms cannot be recorded
  3. Moderator has to be in the same room to access the context menu to a user using the ellipsis (three dots)
  4. Consequently, Moderator will need to be present in the same room to move a participant from one room to another
  5. To return participants to the main room, Moderator will need to close the Breakout room
  6. If Moderator is in a Breakout room, to close the room, Moderator first needs to exit the Breakout room (join another Breakout room or go back to the Main room)
  7. In password-protected meetings, participants will need the password to get back into the Main Room after going to a Breakout Room
  8. Breakout Rooms can also be individually password-protected

CURRENT BUGS
These are noted bugs which are already being worked on. Once resolved, this list will be updated to reflect.

  • In password-protected Breakout Rooms, if a participant does not have the password and chooses to ‘Cancel’, they are booted out of the entire meeting. Ideally, they should be sent back to the Main Room where they were.
13 Likes

Thanks for these steps, please keep this post update if there is any improvement!

Thank you for taking time to write and sharing knowledge.

Hi @Freddie, thanks for this! I have enabled the breakout room using your instruction and it seems working, except for one thing: It does not work in a dynamic branded room.

Nothing happens when the “add breakout room” button is clicked in a dynamic branded room. There is also no error in the browser’s console.

Can this be confirmed by anyone using dynamic branding and is following the unstable branch?