Near Total Failure with Meet.jit.si!

I’m new to Jitsi. It seemed easy to use so i gave it a try.
-First try: win-10 computer-Chrome initiated the meeting to iPhone. The people on the iPhone could see and hear me I couldn’t see or hear them.
-Second try: Android phone initiated to iPhone – after a bit of fiddling, this worked.
-Third try: Win-10-Chrome initiated to Chromebook-Chrome. Nothing worked. The chromebook was unable to access the camera and neither voice nor video came through on either end.
-Third try, variant: Firefox on the win-10 end. Voice came through from Chromebook. Nothing else worked.

I’d love to use Jitsi … any ideas on how to fix this?
Many thanks!

I have a self host instance, and it works great with iphone, chromebook, windows 10 chrome. I haven’t tested with firefox. my guess, jmeet.jit.si may be over utilized right now with everyone using it, or testing it.

This shouldd give you no trouble at all. Any chance you can get the JavaScript console logs when you try again?

Saghul – Sure, where do I find those logs?

Open your browser console, it’s usually uner the Developer Tools menu. Paste us everything you see there.

I’m trying to figure out what has been happening and finding that I cannot access the camera, even locally with the “Camera” app on either computer that I used to try out meet.jit.si – one is Win-10 the other is a chromebook.

Could Jitsi have done something that locked these cameras? They were both working before my attempt to use Jitsi.

Thanks

Sounds like a browser bug. Does it persist after a restart of the computer?

Thanks for the response. Yes, I’ve restarted, uninstalled and reinstalled the camera – still no camera. When I run the CAMERA app, the camera light goes on but it shows:

I’m getting the same symbol on Zoom, Skype, etc.

I’ve also updated and restarted the Chromebook but its camera also doesn’t work since testing Jitsi.