Mute everyone and ignore client unmute

I’ve seen a lot of people requesting the ability to mute everyone while disallowing them from unmuting themselves, I would like to know how much it would cost to implement this feature on the server side.

Patch or plugin should be able to drop voice and video input from participants when “Mute everyone” switch is pressed by the Moderator so only him can speak and broadcast video.

Based on offers we can start a community campaign to fund it.

2 Likes

Pinging some paid developers: @fuqiangleon @telzee @Sanjay_Goyal

1 Like

I can help you if its paid work; I am an expert looking for work! Please share your email/skype and we can take it from there;

I will gladly spend some money to help developer, but I dislike “developer doing it only for paying customer, and not integrating tre result to the main branch”.
When something useful is done, it should be available to everyone…

Thank you for your support, we need quotes from developers so we know how much is required to build it and release it to the public, for everyone :wink:

For info, and from my understanding, the component to modifiy would be jicofo, more precily here

this seems to be kind of easy to do, but probably would need to add some kind of configuration to deal with this new option.

Thank you, were you refereeing to a specific lines? it doesn’t show which ones in your reply. File has over 3000 lines

I was refrencing method 'handleMuteRequest` https://github.com/jitsi/jicofo/blob/11c09eccf136c04bb519ed23262c83c38a198ffc/src/main/java/org/jitsi/jicofo/JitsiMeetConferenceImpl.java#L2308

1 Like

You asked for my email and you didn’t respond to me communication after you got it.

Thank you.
If there will be will to make the changes, I propose this behaviour:

Global boolean variable “Participants can UnMute themselves” visible and toggleable from JitsiMeet “more actions” menu. Of course toggleable only by admins.

Simple, effective, straightforward.