Lobby/Waiting Room

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to Jitsi Meet - but very impressed :wink:

I alreaday set up Jitsi Meet with a secure domain successfully. Now I wonder if there is some sort of lobby / waiting room for meetings? The idea is that guests have to wait until an authenticated user (moderator) let’s them into the room. This is something e.g. Microsoft Teams offer and which can be very handy in some situations.

10 Likes

If you enable secure domain on your deployment, you will have this experience.

1 Like

Hi @damencho,

not really - or do I miss something?
With secure domain enabled a guest can enter the room immediately if the moderator is already in the room. What I want is, that the moderator can login and if a guest want’s to enter the room he has to approve this (this may be an option for the or a global setting).

The idea behind this is

• if the moderator want’s to prepare some thing before the meeting starts he may not want to have guests in the room
  • that it would be possible to have more control over the guests (e.g. only guests known by there name are invited to the room
3 Likes

This would be very similar to how Google Hangouts Meet works right?

I’m not familiar with Google Hangouts, but this is how it works in e.g. Microsoft Teams.

Zoom also provides such virtual waiting rooms: https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/115000332726-Waiting-Room

i think (may im wrong) you must think by user and not by room , i mean 1 user= 1 room
if i understand your problematic, i think you should say : user1 has rendez-vous on room /roomOfTheModeratorAndRandomNumber
so the guest know the room name and will be in “waiting for room” until the moderator creat it, and no one could guess the room name .
Yes, moderator must keep a list of rooms=user… but in waiting for other solution… (such as max participant=2 that i dont know if it exist)
Just an idea for privacy …