Jwt tokens not respecting the exp field

I have been running Jitsi with jwt tokens for almost 2 years now without any problems, and all the fields in the token were working as intended.

While testing one of the old tokens to log into a session, I noticed that the old sessions with an ‘exp’ field that already expired are still working.

For example, a token with exp field set to ‘1584590400’ which expired more than 6 months ago still works!

This is the list of current Jitsi versions installed:

jitsi-archive-keyring/stable 1.0.1 all
jitsi-meet/stable 2.0.5076-1 all [upgradable from: 2.0.4468-1]
jitsi-meet-prosody/stable 1.0.4428-1 all [upgradable from: 1.0.4025-1]
jitsi-meet-tokens/stable 1.0.4428-1 all [upgradable from: 1.0.3216-1]
jitsi-meet-turnserver/stable 1.0.4428-1 all
jitsi-meet-web/stable 1.0.4428-1 all [upgradable from: 1.0.4025-1]
jitsi-meet-web-config/stable 1.0.4428-1 all [upgradable from: 1.0.4025-1]
jitsi-upload-integrations/stable 0.15.15-1 all
jitsi-videobridge/stable 1126-1 amd64 [residual-config]
jitsi-videobridge2/stable 2.1-351-g0bfaac1c-1 all [upgradable from: 2.1-183-gdbddd169-1]

Any ideas where can I debug and look for why this happening?

This is done here: https://github.com/jitsi/jitsi-meet/blob/master/resources/prosody-plugins/token/util.lib.lua#L188
And the validation is done here: https://github.com/jitsi/lua-jwt/blob/master/src/jwt/jws.lua#L39
Which goes in openssl somewhere … So this is all the info I can dig in quickly.

Thanks @damencho, it looks like the ‘exp’ field is not being verified anymore?

That is why the tokens are not expiring anymore, but this does not make sense, as if someone has the token then it will never expire!

Am I missing something?

I think that is working, I recently had a problem with that … Not sure why it does not work for you

The code page which you sent me does not validate the ‘exp’ field in the token, maybe that was removed in a recent update?