[jitsi-users] default settings - ever questioned...?!

I sent out this email a long time ago, but it never went through.

I saw it in my folder, so decided to try to send it again.

I hope it is not out of context at this point and still relevant.

···

Hi,

1. First, this is my first time replying to the list, so I should thank everyone first for the great software.

I also want to thank all the users who gave their input, which helped Jitsi development and Jitsi to become a better software.

1. I agree with Chris and all his points.

I was also wondering the following:

• Maybe the reason for the lack of secure default settings was chosen in order to make it as simple as possible for non-techy users at first, and users from previous software?

If that was the case, then maybe an extra option can be added when running Jitsi for the first time?

a) As the user runs the software for the first time, then Jitsi asks him if he wants to start with the following choices of settings:

• Very secure

• Moderate security

• Normal user

• Custom

Or something along those lines, and a description of what settings this entails can be written under each choice or when hovering over it

Thus, the normal non-techy user will not have to go through the details of how to set this up himself, but it will be setup for him, based on the option chosen.

If he chooses the “Custom” option, then it will take him directly into the settings of the program, where he can adjust and set whatever he wants.

b) If the user decides to change his choice later on, then he/she can have the following:

• There can be an option available to re-run the Wizard again so that the user can choos a different security option

• Or he can just go into the detail settings and modify things himself, which at that point, Jitsi will change the setting of the program from whatever registered choice it was before to “Custom”