[jitsi-users] Changing audio hardware problems

I'm a real newbie with Jitsi. I'm using the Jitsi client with my own Asterisk 10 server and the SIP protocol. My setup is Opensuse for both the server (11.3) and the client (11.4). Normally, switching between my various audio headsets and the onboard audio output is not a problem. Bluetooth+PulseAudio handles the switch smoothly. I have 3 BT headsets, a Logitech Wireless headset and the onboard audio with output only to speakers. The audio devices are handled with Pulseaudio. PA sees the devices come and go without a problem.

My active device when I set up Jitsi (audio options set to "pulse") to explore SIP URI calling was my Samsung WEP475 BT headset. Using this device I get audio from sites such as the Bing 411 IVR service. Audio is good.

But when the batteries ran down I switched over to another headset, and while I hear the bings and bongs in the new headset as the connection is made and dropped, I do not get any speech audio either in or out. I tried a number of headsets, Logitech, Jabra, Plantronics, all failed even though PA was tracking the changes. But when the Samsung was recharged and put back into service audio speech worked fine again.

Is Jitsi only happy with some types of hardware, or should I be looking in the logs for reasons?

···

--
---
Colin Beckingham
http://www.it4gh.com

Hi Colin,

We are currently doing changes to be able to detect when a new device is plugged on/off and then propose users to change their input/output device if they want to.

Regards,

···

--
Seb

Le 01/01/12 19:29, Colin Beckingham a �crit :