adding to my previous email, I would like to propose how a solution to my request could look like. When deleting an account, Jitsi tells me following: "Sind Sie sicher, dass Sie dieses Konto entfernen wollen" (German) = "Are you sure that you want delete this account?".
In my opinion this should be changed to:
"Are you sure that you want delete this account?
_Warning_: Deleting the account also deletes the contacts being associated with this account. For example, if you delete the account "sip.yourserver.com" also the contact "firstname.lastname@example.org" will be deleted. If you want to make a back-up of the file containing the contacts, please see the instructions here: [Link to the Jitsi website describing the back-up of the backup of the contactlist.xml in Windows, Linux, MacOS]"
What do you think about this proposal? Of course, there could be better solutions, such as an export-import of Jitsi contacts feature or that Jitsi simply does not delete "dead" contacts, but this could be a start.
Am 13.06.2011 09:41, schrieb Gerald Leppert:
Dear Jitsi developers,
I would like to propose a simple but very important request regarding the user interface: When deleting an account in Tools -> Preferences -> User accounts, please add a pop-up window warning the user that he/she will also lose all contacts connected to this particular account. The user should also be advised to back-up all contacts before deleting the account. Currently, if a user deletes an account, there is no warning at all and the user is not aware that the contacts are also deleted.
Story behind: This morning, I wanted to solve smaller connectivity problems with one of the SIP-accounts. It seems that I misconfigured the account so much that it did not connect at all. I thought that the easiest way would be to delete the account and newly set it up. Well, I wasn't aware that the contacts will be gone. I was happy that I did an back-up two days ago.
Thanks and kind regards,