[jitsi-dev] Jicofo SPoF

Hello All,

I am fairly new to jitsi and trying to understand various pros and cons of
the architecture. Specifically, I am trying to understand how to run jitsi
in a production environment. It's great that jicofo can load balance across
multiple videobridges, but jicofo itself seems to be a single point of
failure. Has there been any work to remedy this issue?

Thanks,
-Ghulam

Hey Ghulam,

Indeed. We run a number of shards (shard=1prosody + 1jicofo +
Nbridges) in production and we loadbalance between them with HA proxy.
The HA proxies use Jicofo's REST API to run health checks and block
dead ones if necessary.

Emil

···

On Tue, Sep 19, 2017 at 8:15 PM, Ghulam Memon <gmemon.work@gmail.com> wrote:

Hello All,

I am fairly new to jitsi and trying to understand various pros and cons of
the architecture. Specifically, I am trying to understand how to run jitsi
in a production environment. It's great that jicofo can load balance across
multiple videobridges, but jicofo itself seems to be a single point of
failure. Has there been any work to remedy this issue?

Thanks,
-Ghulam

http://lists.jitsi.org/mailman/listinfo/dev

--
https://jitsi.org