Jitsi Bombing

Hi there,

I’m a teacher who has been using jitsi to keep my courses going during the situation we find ourselves in right now. Zoom bombing and Teams bombing have been happening to teachers at my college, but Jitsi has been fine - until this past week. Now, more and more, Jitsi is falling victim to this same treatment. I want to keep using Jitsi - I don’t want my students to have to register for anything or download anything (it’s difficult for them), but I also don’t want them to have to deal with Jitsi bombing. Any suggestions on how to prevent this from happening?

erin

Once you enter the meeting you can define a password
bottom-right corner -> information icon -> define password
and then send it to your students.
Prevents anyone entering the room without having said password.

4 Likes

This!

If, of course, your students share the password, then anyone who has the password can join the room, so impress on them the importance of not sharing the password.

2 Likes

I’ve been using the password, but here’s my question: Once everyone is in the room, can I change the password to something else so no one else can enter?

Good question.

I’ve just tested it on meet.jit.si and, yes, apparently you can change the password after the room has been created and people have entered. New entrants need to enter the new password, and existing participants do not have to enter the new password and are not kicked out. (If they left the room, they’d need the new password to get back into it through.)

4 Likes

Thanks so much for testing this out - this might be my solution!

1 Like