Is a Jitsi-meet server hosted on a VPS, really secure?

I found out that VPS provider normally have access to your data on the server, and also root access (not sure if this is valid for all the VPS providers).

Nevertheless, wish to know how secure audio/chat/video conversations are in the case when Jitsi-meet is on an external server.

And how to eventually improve security: I know a home self hosted solution would be greater security, but this is a bit limited by bandwidth at the moment

I’m not an expert on jitsi but I don’t think I have to be one to answer this question: No, it’s not secure. There is the promise that they are going to add real end to end encryption (by encrypting the frames with a password the server doesn’t know, I don’t know what their plan for audio is) but unfortunately we don’t have this feature yet.

Traffic is encrypted between client and server, but not end to end encrypted. Someone with root access to your server could, if they knew what they were doing, observe and possibly manipulate it.

But, by default, anyone can join a jitsi conference once the room is opened (although you’d see this in the interface), so you’d need to modify that aspect of it too.

(The question really is “is it secure enough for your threat model?” rather than “is it secure?”.)

If I understood correctly, it is end to end encrypted (and peer to peer) if its between 2.
All goes to the server with 3, or more, participant.

Is it so?

And if it is so, can you claim that is totally secure when just 2 people talk/video?

Personally, I wouldn’t claim anything was “totally secure”.

Not even if the server is self hosted?

I would not claim anything was “totally secure”.

More important, though, is whether what you have set up is secure enough for your use case.

1 Like

Why is this more secure?