Install Help - 90% Cpu, 4 core 8Gb Ubuntu

Hoping the group would be able to offer some insight to what I am seeing. I just did a test session with ~30 users and 50% of them using webcams.

I was watching the CPU usage on my Hyper-V Ubuntu install and it hit 90% and started to drop the connections.

I am not a Linux admin so I suspect this is all my config.

The guest server has 4 cpus with 8Gb ram. My public IP is a full 1GB U/D (session only used 50 Mbps at most). I also checked that AES is on the virtual CPU.

The install is straight from the guide with just one change in that I disabled the option to show the audio indicators of people speaking.

Am I expecting too much from this fantastic product?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Well, how did you find out that the Cpu use was 90% then ? was it with top ?

Thank you for replying. I am a total newb on Linux.
I used a SSH program called MobaXterm that shows a summary of CPU, ram ect.
I am going to do another test using HTOP. However, I do think the CPU usage reported was somewhat accurate as I could see it increase as users joined the session. Then, as it got to the 90% range, we would hear the audio start to kick out and then people start to drop. The CPU would then go down to about 10% and start to rejoin people and slowly increase back up.

Perhaps I am asking to much from this program? The VM is hosted on a Microsoft Hyper-V. Again, I just hoped that 4 cores and 8 GB of ram would have been enough.

I am going to check the logs and see if I can see anything but any advice on troubleshooting or just saying that it is too much for Jitsi, let me know please.