Improvements to the contributor experience

Hello,

I’m new to jitsi development and I wanted to document some of the hurdles I see that prevented me from getting started easily.
I’ll focus on jitsi meet and the necessary libs and pieces of it simply because that’s what is interesting for me the most, but I think the points apply to most repos in the jitsi org.

So let’s get started. As a new developer I want to contribute to Jitsi Meet. So I open the github page.
Things look pretty good in this repo documentation wise.
There is a link to the development and to the contributing guidelines which provide me with everything I need to start contributing to the JS Client.

Now I’m a java developer, so just for me personally, I won’t be able to contribute much to this project.
But I read about jitsi-videobridge. This is a java project where I can contribute, yay :slight_smile:
But this is where the hurdles for new developers start.

• There is no CONTRIBUTING.md, no code guidelines, no visible CI, no instructions on which java versions the code needs to run, in short: no documentation that helps new contributors. This is true for most repositories in the jitsi org that I looked at.
  • There are also no issues using the usual labels like “good for first contribution” or “up for grabs”
  • I wasn’t able to find a document/picture which just lists all relevant repos for jitsi meet. I’m able to find most with mvn dependency:tree and google, but it would be nicer to have some kind of central documentation for that.
  • The CLA Process. In some repos there is a bot which asks to sign a cla, while in others there isn’t. This is not consistent at all. Also I personally find the choice of focusing weird. Wh not use something like CLA Assistant with the same text which is properly integrated with github?