Improve participants UI: active and inactive users

Hi,
It’s my first contact with this forum and hope I don’t make any formal mistakes.

I’m no designer. However, I made this image within Impress to demonstrate two improvements I would propose:

As you can maybe see, the modified version on the right hand side offers a much better UX related to quickly see whose (video or) mic is open (or not) and who is currently speaking (the user “P N”). Two things I can hardly notice in the current version we are using (which version number I can not find in the web interface).

It’d improve meeting management to me, if you could include any improvement here.

Thanks!

5 Likes

nice feature :+1:

@novoid It’s an amazing suggestion. A much cleaner approach to differentiate between the Participants with their mic and video on/off.

CC: @Freddie WDYT?

I agree. This is neat and useful.
The focus indicator already handles the 2nd part though - blue line around thumbnail of dominant speaker.

There is an indicator already? I would propose to highlight/invert(?) the mic-icon of all people talking so that this important visualization is not hidden behind the poor contrast between black and blue of a thin line I actually never recognized.

The indicator is on the thumbnail, not in the participants pane. It shows up as a distinct blue border around the dominant speaker. The participants pane is a new addition, I imagine there will be improvements to it with new iterations. But the dominant speaker icon is much more prominent and distinguishable.

Oh I see. Yes, the blue indicator in the thumbnail area is noticeable although not that prominent as I would love to. It’s still hard to grasp because of the poor contrast (black/blue). Furthermore, if there are enough participants, the thumbnail might be out of the current view point, losing the ability to recognize the speaker.