How Reliable is the Public Jitsi Meet Server (meet.jit.si)?

Hi. I’m a complete Jitsi Meet noob and I hope my post will not rub anyone the wrong way.

I’m curious — how reliable is the public server (meet.jit.si)? I need to give seminars from time to time (not very frequently) to an audience of varying sizes, up to 50. I am wondering if I can rely on Jitsi’s public server for it.

Related to this question is whether 8x8 Meet users get better server than the one at meet.jit.si.

In all likelihood, my seminars will never entail heated discussions where multipe parties speak at the same time. At any given time, it is at most just two parties speaking at the same time; I will actively mute those who are not supposed to be talking. Also, it is very, very unlikely that I will need anyone (including myself) to be sharing their video; again, I will probably just not allow video altogether as the moderator.

As the lecturer, I will need to use slides and they need to be shown to the participants via screen sharing. I will also need to show pre-recorded videos (e.g., YouTube videos) from time to time, but they are mostly for show. The videos do not necessarily need to play smoothly, or have great definition, on the viewers’ end. If I need them to really listen to the content, I will play the audio alone, which will be mixed on my end with my voice.

Actually, I just did give such a seminar using Jitsi Meet with the public server a day ago to an audience of 15 or so, and it failed spectacularly. From the beginning, I had made it very clear the primary reason of hosting the seminar was to test Jitsi Meet, so I hope the participants came in with that in mind, but there’s no denying it left a bad impression on them.

The problems we experienced were the following:

• My screen sharing simply did not work at all.