Hidden User?

In the settings of the browser version of Jitsi, there is a checkbox for “Everyone Starts Hidden.” What does it mean to be “hidden?” Does that just mean their camera is disabled – or is there a feature for someone to join my call without me seeing that they’ve joined?

People will start with camera off by default.