[GSOC] React Native SDK

Hi @saghul @Calinteodor (tmoldovan8x8 doesn’t seem to have an account under this name in this forum) and anyone else interested with the topic. I’m opening this forum to discuss ideas and questions to come up with a good GSOC proposal.

So first to make sure if I understand the general idea correctly: Jitsi provides an SDK for native ios and android right now. The goal is to develop a React Native SDK as it would be convenient for many developers and also the Jitsi Apps are written in React Native.

My first question is if there is any history with this project. Which problems do you see with it? I’m very new to Open Source, but I assume there is reasons why there is little cooperation between this project and Jitsi. Other than that, what is your opinion on building the RN SDK as a RN wrapper for the Native SDK?

To get started I downloaded the SDK Samples and played around with the API a bit to understand the structure and general idea of the SDK.
Would be great if you could answer these questions and perhaps give me a hint or two whether there already are older discussions and challenges for this problem
Filip

Correct. Both our apps and native SDKs are really written in RN, the project is about making that consumable as a RN package / library.

Excellent question. I cannot comment on the cooperation since they never reached out to us :person_shrugging: That said, I consider the approach that project took (wrapping our SDKs in RN) the wrong approach.

Our SDKs are already using RN, so there is no good reason to “wrap the wrapper”. What you get by doing that is tons of incompatibilities. In iOS for example you’ll get 2 instances of RN running at the same time, and depending on the libraries the other app is using you may run into issues when doing dybnamic lookups in the ObjC runtime. On Android it’s actually worse because then the app is “forced” to use the same RN version.