Group work/breakout groups

Thiis is probably a question that has been often asked but does Jitsi have a facility for group work? I am a teacher just starting with long distance learning due to the virus and would like to know if it works. I find Jitsi relatively easy to use and would like to stay with it currently but this would be crucial for me. Thanks for any answers

3 Likes

I was just asking myself the same question, for the exact same reason. In addition to group work, this could also be useful for online social events, which do not fit well into the model of “one speaker, many listeners”. I do not see many videoconference tools focusing on this latter aspect. But in these lockdown times, there is probably quite some mindshare to gain by implementing such a feature :wink:

Naively, I would think that this could be implemented at the UI level, without touching the “plumbings”/libs. Since the goal is to allow multiple speakers to speak simultaneously to people in their group (or “nearby”) without interfering too much with the others, an idea would be to adjust the volume up/down for participants inside/outside the group or as a function of some “distance” metric.

Since the case of static, separate groups can already be handled by using multiple rooms, here the focus should be on dynamic groups, where the participants can still overhear other discussions and quickly change groups to join another discussion.

I can think of at least two ways to achieve that:

1. Explicit groups: Users can create groups and join one of them at a time. Users from the current group are displayed in tile view, with the remaining users in the filmstrip, grouped. Other groups are muted by default, but each user can chose to adjust the volume of individual groups to keep up with their discussions if needed.