Gatekeeping room creation from prosody module

How do I go about rejecting room creation from a prosody plugin based on the result of an API call?

I’m new to jitsi/prosody and could use some pointers on the right way to go about this.

I’ve played around with adding a handler for muc-room-pre-create and can reject room creation, but since the focus user is the one that creates the room this results in an error in Jicofo and users just see an “Unfortunately, something went wrong” page which retries and keeps failing.

I’m aware that this could be done using Jicofo’s Reservation system – this is how I’m doing it now; but I’m exploring the possibility of doing this from prosody because:

1. I do not need other features provided by the Reservation system e.g. enforcing conference duration
  2. I gather from this PR that there isn’t much love for the resevation system and there was mention that this could all be done from a prosody module
  3. I already have a custom module to push meeting participation events to my app (on user join/leave) and would be nice to consolidation my integration point to once module.

Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Check token/util you can skip logic based on is_admin, as jicofo is always set to be admin.

Will you try porting reservation system to a prosody module?

Check token/util you can skip logic based on is_admin, as jicofo is always set to be admin.

I did try that, but since jicofo is the one that handles room creation before users join, the muc-room-pre-create handler would always pass and won’t conditionally block room creation?

Will you try porting reservation system to a prosody module?

Perhaps partially at first, since I don’t need the feature to automatically terminate meetings that are past allocated duration.

So, you need to query the reservation like service to decide whether the room can be created …