Element/riot integration - specifically user creation

I am new to jitsi etc.
I followed the installation process from here. I am not 100% sure if this is the right place to ask this - possibly it is a riot problem and doesn’t belong here (apologies in advance if that’s the case)

I have a working system up and running, including

“You then refresh your Riot/Web, and you should be all set to use Jitsi from within your new Riot - as Riot/Web 1.5.15 and later has the ability to natively embed Jitsi straight into the app without needing to use an integration manager.”

• I don’t quite grasp the user authentication part here.
    • Will jitsi be usable by only the configured riot users?
    • Would I need to create prosody users to match the riot users?
  • Would I need to redirect jitsi.domain.comriot.domain.com to enforce this, or is there a more elegant way to do so?

Thanks for the awesome product and the help

IIRC Riot uses JWT for authentication with Jitsi. So if your deployment has that configured, and you don’t allow empty tokens you’d only allow Riot users to join your deployment.

Thank you for the reply. I will experiment and report back

Sorry to bother again - I have searched (unsuccessfully) for an example to modify. I’m not any level of expert, so the best I can do is tweak the brilliance of others to suit my needs.

I think I need to edit the /etc/matrix-synapse/homeserver.yaml file and adjust the settings in this section

#jwt_config:
    # Uncomment the following to enable authorization using JSON web tokens. Defaults to false.
    #enabled: true

# This is either the private shared secret or the public key used to decode the contents of the JSON web token.
    #secret: "provided-by-your-issuer"

# The algorithm used to sign the JSON web token. Supported algorithms are listed at https://pyjwt.readthedocs.io/en/latest/algorithms.html
    #algorithm: "provided-by-your-issuer"