Configurable access to Insertable Streams

Hi – I’m a developer on a screen sharing application using Jitsi as the backing video service. My team has a bit of a peculiar use case we’re interested in working into lib-jitsi-meet, but wanted to get some input from the community first.

Context

The short version: our application allows users to share multiple windows simultaneously, but in order to avoid an exploding number of streams (especially for P2P sessions), we build a composite video frame with each shared window into a single frame, and send metadata about this composition to the receiver so they can decompose and render just the required regions for each shared window. Because this metadata is critical for properly rendering the video frames of shared windows, we directly append these bytes to the video frames, and decode them on the receiver side.

Our primary product is an Electron application, so we’ve accomplished this so far by using a C++ native library that wraps libwebrtc and directly manipulates the video frame buffers. However, we are working on developing a web browser client, and are hoping to make use of Insertable Streams to accomplish it.

The Problem

lib-jitsi-meet does support Insertable Streams, as it is used for implementing E2EE functionality. However, as far as we can tell, access to the Insertable Streams APIs are gated behind enabling E2EE, which we cannot currently support because our own inserted data conflicts with the encryption scheme.

This is mainly an issue because Chrome’s API for Encoded Streams requires the PeerConnection to be properly initialized, which is only done in lib-jitsi-meet if enableInsertableStreams is true – which in turn only is set to true if E2EE is enabled.

Proposal