[Bug] User ends up in limbo when disabling prejoin screen from prejoin screen

Just stumbled across this odd behaviour on my deployment, and can repro in meet.jit.si and alpha.jitsi.net

Steps to repro:

  1. On prejoin page, click settings
  2. Select “More” tab and uncheck “Enable pre meeting screen”
  3. Click “OK”

What happens:

Settings modal and prejoin screen dismissed prematurely, and it looks as though you have joined the meeting (filmstrip, toolbar, headings all visible) but not really – you don’t see anyone in the meeting, and nobody sees you. Toolbar buttons and video doesn’t work.

Only way to recover is to reload the page.

This is a very confusing behaviour for users and they could be hanging around for a while waiting for others to join.

What I expected:

Modal dismissed and still on prejoin page, and can join meeting as usual. No prejoin page on next visit unless re-enabled.


Is this a known issue? Should I raise issue on Github?

I’m able to reproduce this. Definitely not intended behavior. :thinking:

Yep, we will look at fixing it. Thanks for the report.

1 Like