Best, easy method to scale jibri? (2-4 recorders)

I’m a beginner at all this, so please be patient.

What’s the current, best solution to moderately scale jibri (2-4 simultaneous recorders) in digital ocean? I’ve played with docker containers, dabbled with kubernetes, and tried to just setup two droplets side-by-side, all with no luck.

Is there a simple, straightforward guide to achieving this?

I’ve read the install instructions on github :slight_smile:

Thanks!

This is my guide

1 Like

thanks for the response! I’ve actually tried you guide a few times, but can’t get it working beyond the basic jitsi install.

“Create or install a Debian Buster server for each node in this tutorial.” does this mean individual droplets or servers, or do they all live on the same host? What’s the process for doing this?

Hello @SuperJimbo,

Each node is an individual Debian 10.x droplet.

Digital Ocean’s Debian droplet has not snd_aloop support which is needed for Jibri. Therefore first install the standart kernel and then reboot.

apt-get update
apt-get install linux-image-amd64
reboot

After the reboot, apply the instructions on the guide. I assumed that your are already defined a DNS A record for your JMS host.

If you have a problem, inform me.

Thanks! This is very helpful:

Each node is an individual Debian 10.x droplet.

I’ve setup the initial JMS node successfully, but getting a “recording unavailable” error when trying to record.

Hello @SuperJimbo,

How many CPU cores are there? If it’s less than 4 cores, there will be no running Jibri intance.
The first two cores are reserved for the base processes. After these two cores, one Jibri instance is started for each additional 2 cores.

For example if there is 8 cores, 2 cores are used by the system and 6 cores are used by the Jibri instances. There will be 3 Jibri instances (6 / 2 = 3) in this case.

To check the number of cores:

nproc --all

And to list the running instances:

lxc-ls -f