Audio not working with a lot of users

Hello,

I have a self-hosted jitsi meet server. it working fine when doing a video conference with 3-5 users. When we try to do video conference with around 20 users some user audio is not working. I’m new in jisti hoping someone can guide me what do i need to check.

Regards,

Romeo

Is it just audio? What are the resources cpu/ram and bandwidth for the server? Have you monitor them in a problem call?

Hello @damencho,

Just the audio. It works fine with a few user when a lot of user is connected in a conference call thats the problem arise some of the user is not able to hear anything some of them can hear it.

CPU:

1 vCore

RAM:

2048 MB

Storage:

55 GB SSD

Bandwidth:

[5.14 GB of 2000 GB]

If you are hosting on the same machine jvb and jicofo, my advice is to make it at least 8GB of Ram.

@damencho do you think its has something to do with the specs? How many user can my server have with simultaneous calls? I just use this guide to setup a jitsi-meet in vultr https://www.vultr.com/docs/how-to-install-jitsi-meet-on-ubuntu-18-04-lts

So jvb and jicofo are two process that when started they set the max memory that they can use up to 3GB

-Xmx3072m
So you just leave memory and for the rest of the processes and have 6 for this.

Normally the first limit to hit is bandwidth, and bandwidth and CPU usage is proportional.
Not sure what is the CPU that is used, but running the instance on aws’s c5.xlarge should handle a lot of concurrent sessions.

thanks for the info @damencho will do a test and update you soon possible.

hello @damencho,

By the way i forgot to inform you. When were doing the conference call with a lot of user we are using the rocket chat app that been ingrate with jitsi meet.

Regards,

Romeo

Hello @damencho,